– Všetko čo študent potrebuje
Nedeľa, 18. apríla 2021
The EU
Dátum pridania: 17.05.2004 Oznámkuj: 12345
Autor referátu: jimm/misik
Jazyk: Angličtina Počet slov: 671
Referát vhodný pre: Stredná odborná škola Počet A4: 2.1
Priemerná známka: 2.96 Rýchle čítanie: 3m 30s
Pomalé čítanie: 5m 15s
The EU is a unique organisation of 15 Member States. These states have given specific powers to the E. institutions so that they make E. decisions and laws in specific areas.
You can often see that the EU is pictured as a temple – a structure with common foundations, three pilars and a common roof.
Building of the EU temple started after the Second World War. The ideas of creating a United States of Europe or a Pan – European union were not new, but only after WWII. Did the conditions for a European organization exist. Politicians realized that Europe could develop and become an economic power again only if there was peace. To keep peace it was necessary to co – operate and have friendly relations. This idea forms the foundations of the temple.
The first pillar was built in 1951 when France, Germany, Belgium, Netherland, Luxemburg and Italy agreed to co-operate in the production and trade of coal and steel. In 1957 these countries extended the co-operation to the areas of trade, economy and nuclear energy. The goal was to create a common market with four freedoms – free movement of goods, free movement of workers, free movement of services and free movement of capital. That technically means that there are open borders and there are no problems for goods and services, people and money to move freely among these countries.

The number of areas of co-operation grew and the countries also started to work together in areas that are not strictly economic, such as the environment, culture, or social affairs.

In 1992 the second and the third pillars of co-operation were built. The co-operation in these pillars is political, not economic. It means that it is in the areas that are more sensitive and countries normally manage these areas themselves. The second pillar is built on co-operation in security and foreign policy, and the third pillar is built on co-operation in justice and home affairs.

The roof of the temple is made by institutions whose roles are described in the treaties. (When the countries start to co-operate, they sign a treaty describing how they are going to do it, and who will be responsible for what.)
There are five important institutions of the EU: The European Parliamen, the Council of the EU, the European Commission, te European Court of Justice and the European Court of Auditors.
It is important to note that there is the Concil of Europe and the Council of the EU and they are quite different.
   1  |  2    ďalej ďalej
Copyright © 1999-2019 News and Media Holding, a.s.
Všetky práva vyhradené. Publikovanie alebo šírenie obsahu je zakázané bez predchádzajúceho súhlasu.