Tento článok bol vytlačený zo stránky https://referaty.centrum.sk


United Kingdom

United Kingdom lies off the north-west coast of Europe. It consists of two large islands (Great Britain and Ireland) and about 5,000 smaller ones (e.g. the Isle of Man, Anglesey, the Hebrides, the Orkneys, the Shetlands...). It covers the areao of about 245,000 sguare kilometres. The main mountain regions are the Cornish Heights, the Pennines and the Cumbrian Mountains and Cheviot Hills in England, the Cambrians in Wales and the Highlands of Scotland, which are the highest mountaints in Great Britain. The highest mountain is Ben Nevis (1,342 m). Ben Nevis is in the Highlands of Scotland. The longest rivers are the Severn and famous Thames. In Lake District in England and in Highlands of Scotland are beautiful lakes. Wintermere is the largest lake in Lake District and also in the whole Great Britain. There is Steamboat Museum too. The North of the Britain is Scotland. It is a large and magnificent lake and mountains area. The biggest lake is Loch Lomond. The most famous lake is Loch Ness with it´s "Loch Ness Monster". Lakes are called lochs in Scotland. Population is about 58,000,000 people. In Britain we can find the following ethnic groups: 81.5% English, 9.6% Scottish, 2.4% Irish, 1.9% Welsh and 1.8% Ulster. The majority of people speaks English. Minority languages are Welsh, Scottish and Irish Gaelic. The Capital of the United Kingdom is London. Other towns are Birmingham, Leeds, Glasgow, Sheffield, Liverpool, Bradford, Manchester, Edinburgh, Bristol etc. National economy: Currency valid in U.K. is 1 L (pound) which has 100 pennies. The main industries are aircraft, banking, electronics, metals, shipbuilding, shipping, steel, textiles, vehicles etc. The main agricultural products are fruit, grains, sugar beet, vegetables etc. The natural riches are coal, gas, iron, oil, salt etc. Goverment type: The United Kingdom is a constitutional monarchy with the Queen as the head of state. Great Britain is divided into 4 countries: England (capital London), Wales (Cardiff), Scotland (Edinburgh) and Northern Ireland (Belfast). The problems between majority Protestant and minority Roman Catholic people is one of the causes of civil disturbances in Northen Ireland. Locally is Britain divided into smaller counties. Palace of Westminster know as the Houses of Parliament is the supreme law-making body in the country. It consist of the House of Commons and House of Lords. The Commons has 650 elected and paid Members of Parliament (MPs).

In House of Lords are peers, bishops and 2 archbishops. General elections to choose MPs are every 5 years. In Britain are two large parties: Conservative Party and Labour party (Today: The Prime Minister is Tony Blair). Each country has its cross in the flag. National anthem is "God Save the Queen". Symbol of England is the red rose. Symbol of Wales is the leek and daffodil. Symbol of Scotland is the thistle and symbol of Ireland is the shamrock...

Koniec vytlačenej stránky z https://referaty.centrum.sk